1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 (3 Votes)



The Lairdside Maritime Centre is part of Liverpool John Moores University (LJMU). The University has an extensive maritime history with experience in the training and development of Maritime Professionals, Deck Officers and Marine Engineers, and the provision of Graduate and Postgraduate Degree courses in the Maritime and Transport Industries.

Lairdside Maritime Centre currently provides the facilities to meet the training needs of the maritime industry. At the heart of the Centre is a ship-handling simulator that is amongst the most advanced in Europe and currently the only one in the UK with a 360° field-of-view visual system.

The center offers a full range of navigational and ship-handling courses with a high degree of realism. In addition, there are facilities for GMDSS radio courses and non-simulator courses as well as access to all LJMU maritime degree and non-degree programs.

Training Programs

Bridge Navigation Courses


  • Bridge Team Management (5 days)
  • Automatic Radar Plotting Aids (3 days)
  • Bridge Resource Management (3 or 5 days)
  • Electronic Chart Display and Information System (ECDIS) - 3 days
  • General Ship Handling (3 days)
  • High Speed Navigation (2-5 days)
  • Navigation and Radar (Small Vessels) – 5 days
  • Navigation and Radar (Management Level) – 9 days

Crisis Management Courses

  • Crisis Management and Human Behavior (1 day)
  • Crowd Management (½ day)
  • Passenger Safety, Cargo Safety, Hull Integrity (½ day)
  • Crisis Management with Simulation (2 days)

Radio Communications Courses

  • GMDSS - General Operators Certificate (9 days)
  • GMDSS - Long Range Certificate (4 to 5 days)
  • GMDSS - Restricted Operators Certificate (3 days)
  • GMDSS - Introductory Radio Maintenance (1 day)
  • Marine VHF Operator (1 day)
  • Search and Rescue on Scene Coordinator (1 day)

ISM Auditor Courses

  • ISM Internal Lead Auditor (2 days)
  • ISM Internal Lead Auditor (2days)
  • ISM Appreciation (1 day)

Security Courses

  • SPS Code - Ship Security Officer (MCA) – 3 days
  • ISPS Code - Company Security Officer (IMO) – 4 days
  • ISPS - Internal Auditor (Ship Security Plan) – 2 days
  • ISPS - Internal Auditor PFSP – 2 days
  • SPS Code – Appreciation (1 day)
  • SPS Code - Port Facility Security Officer (TRANSEC) – 3 days
  • SPS - Ship's Crew Familiarization Training (1 day)
  • ISPS Code - Ship Security Officer (IMO) – 3 days
  • ISPS - Training for Port Facility Security Staff (1 day)
  • ISPS - Training for Senior Management (½ day)

Medical Courses

  • Elementary First Aid (1 day)
  • Medical First Aid on Board (4 days)
  • Medical Care on Board Ship (5 days)
  • Medical Care on Board Ship – Refresher (3 days)

Safety Training

  • Basic Safety Training (5 days)
  • Advanced Fire Fighting (4 days)
  • Fire Fighting and Fire Prevention (3 days)
  • Personal Safety & Social Responsibility (PSSR) – ½ day
  • Personal Survival Techniques (PST) - 1 day
  • Proficiency in Survival Craft & Rescue Boats (PSC & RB) - 5 days

Yacht Crew Training

  • Medical First Aid on Board
  • GMDSS - General Operators Certificate
  • General Ship Knowledge
  • Navigation and Radar
  • Advanced Fire Fighting
  • Medical Care on Board Ship
  • Navigation, ARPA and Radar Simulation
  • Seamanship and Meteorology
  • Stability
  • Business and Law

Miscellaneous Courses

  • Merchant Navy Shipboard Disciplinary (1 day)
  • On Board Assessment (3 days)
  • Shipboard Safety Officer (3 days)
  • Tanker familiarization and tanker safety
  • Training for Instructors (5 days)
  • UK - Legal and Administrative Process (Grade 1 for Master) – 5 days



Your officers can only serve on a UK ship if they hold a UK Certificate of Competency (CoC) or a UK Certificate of Equivalent Competency (CEC). A CEC allows officers holding CoCs issued by certain non-UK countries to work as officers on UK-registered ships.

To obtain a CEC from the Maritime and Coastguard Agency (MCA), you must be able to provide certain documents or evidence of qualifications to the MCA's Seafarer Training and Certification Branch. In some circumstances, you may also have to prove your competence in the English language.

The MCA checks that applicants for CECs are qualified to the same standards as holders of UK CoCs. To do this it considers the standards of education and training represented by the applicant's CoC and will issue a CEC if there appears to be no significant difference. However, where the MCA believes there is a difference in standards, it will assess individual applicants in the areas where the difference is apparent.


International maritime regulations set out minimum competency requirements for seafarers. These are designed to ensure that all crew members have the skills, knowledge and experience to complete their duties safely and effectively. Certificates of Competency (CoCs) are issued to seafarers who meet the requirements, enabling ship operators to ensure that their vessels are adequately crewed for safe operation.

A structured range of CoCs exist covering different duties and officer ranks. These divide broadly between deck department CoCs and engineering CoCs. Some CoCs relate to specific duties, such as radio operation.

Seafarer Certificates of Competency (CoCs) are only issued following a successful assessment and examination. This consists of practical, written and in most cases oral components. The purpose of the assessment and examination is to ensure that candidates meet the standards of competence required to undertake the various different functions associated with their particular level of responsibility. The required standards of competence are set out by the International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers 1978 as amended - and its associated code - known as the STCW Code.